Whatever happened to manners?

This being my first post, I’ll probably have to explain a few things about myself in order for anyone to understand the story. I am a 31 year old college student, trying to finally make it through college and better my life. I also work at my local library. Today our class let out early, so I decided to go to work early and use the public computers to get ahead on some homework. Each of these computers allows you to use them for a limit of one hour. Exactly six minutes after I logged on, I was smacked on the shoulder by a 12 year old girl, and asked, “how long are you going to be here?” Instead of getting annoyed, I politely told the little brat that I had the computer for an hour and only six minutes had gone by. She then gave a big, exasperated sigh, and flopped down in a chair not 2 feet from where I sat. Every ten minutes, she would ask me and the woman at the next computer how much longer we would be. I told her twice, very nicely, that there were computers in other areas of the library that may be available sooner. She stared at me as though I was rude for telling her this, and continued to sit there. I continued to work and tried to ignore the fact that I had a rude 12 year old breathing heavily behind me. I didn’t get short with her until the sixth time she asked if I was done. At this point, I turned and looked at her. “You know what?” I said, “I really don’t know, but if you keep asking, I’ll go to the desk and ask them to give me another hour.” She stared at me for a moment, as if she had never been spoken to like that before, which was probably the case, then got up and complained to her friends that I was so mean to not get off the computer for her.

I wanted to slap her, rip up her library card, and call her mother to let her know she had raised a rude little brat. Of course, I did not do any of those things, as one does not correct other peoples children, or criticize a parent for how that child behaves. Because we might offend that parent, god forbid. What I don’t understand is how that parent can honestly look people in the face, and claim that there child can do no wrong. It doesn’t matter if that child is swinging an ax at their neighbors puppy, the parent will say something stupid, like “they’re just playing…”

Oh well, just had to get that off my chest.

Leave a comment

Filed under Rants

Leave a Reply

